Medical marijuana patients often have questions about marijuana regulations that pertain to them while driving. In Florida, although medical marijuana has been legalized, patients in the MMU registry are subject to various laws and regulations, including many that apply when you’re behind the wheel. Read on to get informed about these legal regulations and ensure that your use of medical marijuana is lawful.
Medical Marijuana in Florida
If you have a qualifying condition and have received approval from a medical marijuana doctor, like a member of the staff at Tetra Health Care, you can legally obtain medical marijuana in Florida. Upon doctor approval, you’ll receive a medical marijuana card and be added to the MMU Registry.
Florida Marijuana Laws for Drivers
When you’re in your car, it’s legal to have medical marijuana. This makes it possible for patients to pick up their medical marijuana from a dispensary and drive home with it without breaking the law. But although the marijuana can be in the vehicle, you can’t use it (even if your car is parked or if you’re a passenger in the car) until you’re at a private residence or property.
DUIs for Marijuana Use While Driving
Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Florida for everyone, including those in the MMU Registry. Anyone caught under the influence of marijuana while driving could face a DUI. A first-time DUI conviction could lead to:
- Fines as high as $1,000
- Up to six months of jail time
- Confiscation of your driver’s license for up to six months
- 50 hours of community service
For more information about Florida medical marijuana laws or to book an appointment with one of our medical marijuana doctors, contact Tetra Health Centers today.